Pet Blogs – Sasha & The Silverfish

7 May

Today I’m doing Follow Friday blog-style with a look at one of my favourite fellow bloggers, Sasha from Sasha & The Silverfish. She lives in the Philippines and is wise beyond her 20 (I know!) years.

She writes about everything from classics to literary fiction to erotic fiction (and she’s not afraid to admit it!), and is also a devoted short story reader (check out her review of My Mistress’s Sparrow is Dead: Great Love Stories from Chekhov to Munro).

Her frank, devil-may-care ‘tude makes her a must-blog-read for me: I first came upon her site because of this post on how reading Nick Hornby’s Housekeeping Vs. The Dirt reinvigorated her love of reading. She admits that she and Hornby don’t always share the same reading tastes, but she thoroughly enjoys his wit and pure enthusiasm. In turn, I thoroughly enjoyed this little gem of hers from the same post:

I love people who love their books, and aren’t snooty about it. No, I have never read Tolstoy—who was it that said just summoning his name invokes a deep fatigue?—but I have sworn to read Jane Austen because I want to back up my lifelong motto, Rochester Over Darcy Bitchez (there are currently four people in this club, and yes, my mother counts).

This post led me to discover that we also share a philosophy on book blogging – not wanting to necessarily present ourselves as authorities on what other people should or shouldn’t read, but instead, reflect on our reading experiences, and when applicable, say (in her words), “Goodness, my friend, read this, it’s awesomesauce!” (a phrase I was later reintroduced to when she wrote about Lionel Shriver’s The Post-Birthday World). Also, like me, she enjoys a good, over-priced, “Little Red Moley.”

In the spirit of my Desert Island/Zombie Apocalypse obsession, here are her top 5 D.I.Z.A. picks:

Jane Eyre, by Charlotte Bronte.

But for the Lovers, by Wilfrido Nolledo

The Collected Stories of Richard Yates

The Collected Stories of Carol Shields

The Collected Stories of Raymond Carver

And in case you’re wondering, yes, choosing collected stories IS cheating.

And that snazzy illustration up there? By her BF Pancho C. Villanueva and currently serving as her desktop wallpaper.

6 Responses to “Pet Blogs – Sasha & The Silverfish”

  1. Sasha May 8, 2010 at 10:51 am #

    I wonder how you’ll feel when you learn that out of those three “cheating” books, I only really own just one? Haha, I mean, if there’s a zombie apocalypse, I’m looting a bookstore to get the other two, ;p

    ______________

    I sent you an e-mail, and really tried to restrain myself, haha. Thanks so much, this is one of the brighter parts of today. Hugs!

    [PS -- I realize I spelled an author's name wrong, oops. It's supposed to be Wilfrido, sorry!]

  2. Lija May 8, 2010 at 11:11 am #

    Fixed!

    You better get your D.I.Z.A. kit stocked up. Just in case.

  3. LisaG May 9, 2010 at 8:01 pm #

    I just checked out her blog. She had me at “awesomesauce.”

  4. winstonsdad May 20, 2010 at 12:40 am #

    like desert island reads very good idea ,all the best stu

  5. Lija May 21, 2010 at 10:44 am #

    Thanks for the comments, Stu and Lisa! She is pretty awesomesauce.

    • Sasha May 21, 2010 at 11:57 am #

      Aw, come on, ye’r making me blush, dammit. ;p

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

