Catch Up in the Rye

25 Sep

Life of Pi

During the tail-end of university,  I was confined to course reading, which really wasn’t so bad – I knocked off a bunch of classics (Middlemarch!), and discovered some enduring favourites (Robertson Davies!). Then, during the beginning of my fledgling magazine career, I’d be so brain-dead after work that I stuck to comfort reading – old stand-bys that I would read and re-read.

This is all leading up to a confession. I missed out on some of the big award-winners and best-sellers of the past four (ack, maybe five) years. A Thousand Splendid Suns? Not a page. Life of Pi? Sorry, Yann. Middlesex? Even the mighty Ope’s endorsement wasn’t enough to whip me into shape. And I just read Miriam Toews’ A Complicated Kindness two weeks ago.

Shaaame!

Now that I’ve said sayonara to the magazine gig and have packed up and moved to London, it’s time to make amends to the book gods (and Oprah) and make up for some lost ground. I’d love suggestions on which books are absolute can’t-misses from the last few years. And, to show that I’m serious, if anyone recommends a (fiction) book here, I will read it within the month.

2 Responses to “Catch Up in the Rye”

  1. Sonja September 26, 2009 at 12:08 am #

    A Thousand Splendid Suns.
    It’s about time.

  2. LisaG September 28, 2009 at 7:57 pm #

    I still haven’t read A Thousand Splendid Suns either – it’s on my bookshelf, so I’ll get to it sometime in the next couple of months.

    I really liked A Complicated Kindness. She has a new book called The Flying Troutmans that I just finished – it was pretty good, but there was a continuity error that bugged me.

    Life of Pi was good too.

    Run by Anne Patchett was excellent – read it last fall.

    Just finished What Casanova Told Me by Susan Swan this summer – it’s not new, but it was excellent.

    Personally, I just read what I like, and what looks interesting. Ends up being a lot of Canadian fiction, though I try to be a bit diverse. I don’t follow the Ope, which probably makes me a bad writer/reader ; )

Leave a Reply

