Buy More Book (Stuff)

6 Nov

John Steinbeck's The Pearl, as a purse

Right after reading this way-harsh diatribe against Penguin’s practice of lending their covers to mugs, notebooks, and yes – deck chairs, I found out about Olympia Le-Tan’s collection of clutches made from hand-embroidered renderings of first edition book covers. And I liked it. 

I should confess that I’m a huge sucker for the Penguin merch (I’ve been eyeing the Pride and Prejudice mug for a while, and have even added it to my bookmarks folder “Gift Guide,” which is packed with reasonably-priced items for the discerning shopper, should they want to light up my face this holiday season). I was the kind of kid who would hit up the Scholastic book fair and – after picking up a copy of Julie of the Wolves or The Giver – spend the remainder of her allowance on kitten posters and troll-doll pencil-toppers.

So although I won’t be spending my rent money on a Nineteen Eighty-Four purse anytime soon, and I don’t have anywhere to actually put a Brighton Rock deck chair, it really doesn’t bother me that other people do.

These penguin mugs would make a lovely present for Lija

The offending goods taking up shelf space at my local Foyle's

3 Responses to “Buy More Book (Stuff)”

  1. LisaG November 9, 2009 at 9:21 pm #

    Yeah, that article on Penguin was pretty harsh. I don’t see anything wrong with a nice Wuthering Heights coffee mug!

  2. puddinghead9 November 16, 2009 at 12:33 pm #

    I wonder if they sell those penguin mugs here in Vancouver?

    • Lija November 19, 2009 at 11:17 am #

      They must! If not at actual bookshops, at least at cutesy gift stores? I figure Vancouver must have tons of those…

Leave a Reply

