What I Read About When I Read About Books

13 Nov

The Recently Deflowered Girl, Edward Gorey & Hyacinthe Phypps

• Gawker asks journalists to just quit it already with their show-offy Raymond Carver-inspired What We Talk About When We Talk About X headlines. The New York Times was the worst offender (and Gawker was next).

• Good news for fans of creepy/cute pen drawings: a “lost” Edward Gorey-illustrated book is back in print. Anything with the word “Deflowered” in the title has stocking stuffer written all over it.  

• Random House Canada hooks up with a boozy new bed partner – Stoneleigh wine bottles will get neck tags recommending book club titles. Very crafty. How do you say no to a nice merlot telling you to stay home and read books? 

• The Guardian’s Stuart Jeffries has a major hate-on for Waterstones and Waterstone returns the favour. I need a Brit to fully explain the stormy relationship between book people and the chain. I can’t peek at TheBookseller.com without getting hit with some serious anti-Waterstones vitriol in the comments. 

• How well do you remember your Judy Blume? A quiz for anyone who ever wanted to write “I GOT IT!!!” on the back of a postcard.

3 Responses to “What I Read About When I Read About Books”

  1. missrandell November 16, 2009 at 1:59 pm #

    Awesome. That quiz was the perfect way to start my week.

    • Lija November 16, 2009 at 2:21 pm #

      How’d you do? I totally tanked – I think I was over-confident just because I know Are You There God really well (probably because I stole it from my school library).

      • missrandell November 17, 2009 at 12:20 am #

        I got 7/11. I actually thought I would do better, but there were too may questions about Fudge. Less Fudge, more Rachel Robinson!!

        Now I want to re-read AYTGIMM…

Leave a Reply

