Hate Twilight? Take a Nap

18 Nov

Jezebel post about the Daily Mail’s Stephanie Meyer profile inspired the usual commenter-scorn I’ve come to expect for the ridiculously popular vampire scribe. What I found more interesting was the show of support for Meyer, even from those who don’t personally enjoy her writing. I haven’t read any of the Twilight books myself, but I can’t imagine they’d make me want to throw them across the room and start shouting about “kids these days.”

I think what bugs me about the Meyer-hate is that it’s all wrapped up in how successful she is. Like it or not, we can’t control what those screaming tweens want to get their little paws on at the bookstore.  Does the success of the Twilight series take away from the rest of the publishing industry, or does it groom young readers who may move on to weightier material?

I remember my dad trying to explain to me, at the tender age of six, why the Sweet Valley Kids (Sweet Valley High, but for the velcro-shoes set) and The Baby-Sitters Club books were (gasp!) not literary masterpieces. I think the word “formulaic” was even trotted out for the occasion. The thing is, I read just about anything back then, and eventually managed to figure out on my own which books were brilliant and which were more suited for a quick skim. 

I always get touchy about guilty pleasure shame. It’s because I love TV so much.

Commenters make good points about novels, naps

5 Responses to “Hate Twilight? Take a Nap”

  1. savidgereads November 26, 2009 at 9:16 am #

    You see I was an utter Twilight hater, and I had read the book so felt that I had good reason to be. Then someone selfishly leaves a copy of New Moon out in my flat… and oh guess what I am hooked and slightly appauled at myself. The shame!

  2. Lija November 27, 2009 at 11:20 am #

    I think I’m defending Twilight because it seems too easy to hate it. I know a millionaire isn’t exactly an underdog, but still…

  3. LisaG November 27, 2009 at 8:45 pm #

    I haven’t read the Twilight series, and don’t really intend to, but I’m with you – see no point in totally hating the author.

    Plus, I was also a big Sweet Valley addict. I think we both turned out okay : )

  4. Juxtabook December 2, 2009 at 11:13 am #

    Oddly people attack Twilight because they think it is sexist but the hating of Stephenie Meyer because she is successful if the most sexist thing of all. No-one attacks John Grisham because his lawyers are mainly men (unless they practice family law or take on no-hope cases) but is is ok for John Grisham to be successful because he is a man.

    • Lija December 3, 2009 at 10:11 am #

      Thanks for reading and commenting, Juxtabook. I think if anyone can make millions writing books, then all power to ’em.

Leave a Reply

