Cover Edition of Who Wore It Better?

20 Nov

I’ve only just broken the first hundred pages of Sarah Waters’ The Little Stranger, but things are looking good. I woke up wondering what’s going to happen next, and musing over how sharply crafted the shit-hits-the-fan scene is – the dainty foreshadowing is hilarious.

On an entirely superficial note, the U.S. cover reminds me of something I wouldn’t want to read. Is it the type? The misty amber background? 

10 Responses to “Cover Edition of Who Wore It Better?”

  1. Riff Randell November 20, 2009 at 11:37 pm #

    Oooh, the UK one is so much cooler! It looks artsy and badass. The US cover makes it look like a Nicholas Sparks novel. I hate that guy. (Although I will admit that the film version of The Notebook had me bawling like a baby…)

  2. Sonja November 21, 2009 at 3:13 am #

    Yeah the UK one looks fun. The US one, with those colours and the mist and the type, could practically be a poster for Twilight.

  3. Lija November 22, 2009 at 10:47 pm #

    Sonja: Hey, watch the Twilight hating! (see below) Besides, I know you love it.

    Riff: Yes! With a tinge of political drama?

  4. Lija November 24, 2009 at 11:18 am #

    Important update guys! My mom disagrees:
    “I actually prefer the misty orangy cover on the right. It says ‘quality’ while the other says ‘quickread’.”

  5. fleurfisher November 25, 2009 at 1:54 pm #

    Definitely the UK edition. Putting to one side personal preferences about design styles, to me that one looks as though someone has thought about how best to present the book, whereas the US cover looks fairly generic. To me anyway!

    • Lija November 26, 2009 at 11:02 am #

      Agree completely. Maybe that’s why I was having trouble thinking of what “kind” of book the other cover reminds me of. It could be almost anything.

  6. Essie Fox November 25, 2009 at 7:45 pm #

    Did you finish The Little Stranger? Did you like it?

    Essie

    • Lija November 26, 2009 at 11:03 am #

      No, I’m a terrible slow reader this week! Too much blogging/twittering. I’m still liking it, but wish the ghosty stuff to feature more prominently.

  7. Jenny November 27, 2009 at 11:42 am #

    I think I prefer the UK version as well. And it fits in with the cover of her previous novel, ‘The Night Watch’. There is something about the US version – I know what you mean.

    Did you enjoy reading it? I loved it. Love all her books.

    • Lija November 28, 2009 at 11:47 am #

      Thanks for reading and commenting, Jenny. In the US, the cover for The Night Watch was also more generic (http://www.amazon.com/Night-Watch-Sarah-Waters/dp/159448905X), although I still like it more than the US one up here. I’m a big fan of hand-lettering too, so I’m pretty biased on that front.

      I’ve never read Sarah Waters before, and I really like her style of writing (especially the stodgy bachelor narrator!). Just finishing the book today, and am eager to find out about the ambiguous ending that everyone’s mentioned.

Leave a Reply

