The Little Cottage That Could

23 Nov

Remember how I like to write about where writers write? Today, I’ve got an especially covetable one to share (that is, if you’re a fan of fairy tales, lattice windows, beautiful woodwork, and staying tucked up in bed).

I’ve been waiting for any excuse to mention The Hermitage’s Rima Staines – she’s a nomadic artist and story-teller in the UK who lives in an other-wordly cottage on wheels (it’s actually a converted horsebox truck, with some key modern perks like mobile broadband). In this post she talks about the book she’s working on, her packed-to-the rafters work corner, and the squee-worthy laptop cradle her partner’s rigged up over their bed.

I know I’m not cut out for transient living, but it’s still something to think about when I’m stuck on the Central Line.

I'm pretty sure elves will just do her work for her.

Seriously.

3 Responses to “The Little Cottage That Could”

  1. Kate Collings November 24, 2009 at 10:57 am #

    This idellic picture certainly puts my work station to shame as I am surrounded by nappy bombs and post its, bottles, toys and wrestlng memorabilia. xx

  2. Nick Harkaway December 8, 2009 at 12:14 pm #

    Oh, my. How many times have I thought about something like that laptop trapeze thing?

    But someone has actually done it… that inspires respect…

    • Lija December 9, 2009 at 11:00 am #

      Now if someone perfects the desk-couch hybrid, I’ll be really impressed.

Leave a Reply

