Best Buds and Thesauri

8 Dec

In my first post here, I wondered: “Does Margaret Atwood ever use dictionary.com to find a cracker-jack synonym?”

I was mostly kidding, but my question has been answered! Over on Marg’s blog, she lists ten gift ideas for the budding novelist. And her synonym-finder of choice does not require an internet connection.

4. Roget’s Thesaurus. I know there are some thesauri on line but nothing beats the paper version. It is somehow more troll-able. And when things go bad, you can warm it in the oven (not to much, it’s flammable) & cuddle up to it in bed.

It’s like we’re just on the same wavelength, y’know?

Fun fact – we are also college alumna buddies. The campus pub I frequented is called The Cat’s Eye. Really good couches.

3 Responses to “Best Buds and Thesauri”

  1. missrandell December 9, 2009 at 3:54 am #

    Every time I want to write Marge off as full of herself, she says something like this and I get all proud and nostalgic. One of my students is reading Cat’s Eye as an ISP book and it’s all I can do not be like, “she wrote me a letter once. Kinda.”

  2. LisaG December 15, 2009 at 12:14 am #

    Should have read her list before I composed my own Christmas list. Couldn’t agree more with the importance of a space for holding all those revisions!

    • Lija December 17, 2009 at 9:45 am #

      Where are your revisions right now?

Leave a Reply

