Wanted: One Perfect Comfort Read

15 Dec

I’d like to thank Rachel at Book Snob for reviewing L.M. Montgomery’s The Blue Castle and reminding me of one of my all-time favourite comfort reads. She also gave me a little hat tip in her post because I commented on the book’s poetic justice perfection: “Everything you want to happen, happens.”

I wasn’t kidding – You’ll find yourself punching the air or doing little victory dances as wallflower heroine Valancy gets hers in the end. I have an old McClelland and Stewart copy at home-home (that means Saskatchewan, just one home means Toronto, and London is still not-quite home), but won’t have access to it for another year or so. Where to get ahold of it in London?

5 Responses to “Wanted: One Perfect Comfort Read”

  1. Sonja December 16, 2009 at 4:53 am #

    I was just thinking of this book yesterday!
    It’s so satisfying. I’ll try to find it at home-home this summer.

  2. savidgereads December 16, 2009 at 12:32 pm #

    Oooh now then this book and finding it in London. My advice is all the book shops beween leicester sq and oxford street on Charing Cross Road, it might be expensive and a bit difficult to find but ask the people at the shops and have a good route through there cellars and they may come up with the goods. Another plcae to go is the Book Exchange in Notting Hill, they sometimes have rare books. Hope that helps?

  3. Laura December 16, 2009 at 1:09 pm #

    I so am going to find a copy of this book! I read a lot of L.M Montgomery’s novels as a pre-teen somehow this one passed me by!

    My favorite comfort reading is Judy Blumes Are you there god it’s me Margaret? I still read it to this day whenever I’m sick and up at night.

    Then I chant to myself I must I must increase my bust!

  4. Rachel December 17, 2009 at 8:15 am #

    Thanks for the mention! It is just the perfect comfort read. If you’re prepared to spend £20 there is a copy on oxfam online available – http://www.oxfam.org.uk/shop/second-hand-books/351327

    If not keep your eyes peeled on ebay – that’s where I got mine and I only paid £10. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

