My Holiday Book Haul

5 Jan

On my way back to London from Toronto, I was forced to take an extra piece of luggage. While it’s true that half of this suitcase was filled with cheese, maple syrup, and leftover beauty booty (translation: fancy shampoo from my old job), the rest of it was crammed with books, both new gifts and beloved oldies that I rescued from the bookshelf of left-behind books. 

I got some pretty good stuff this year, including the Wrinkle in Time boxed set (I used its pretty artwork in my first ever post) and Alice Munro’s Too Much Happiness. I also scored this customizable Pride & Prejudice. Gimmicky? Yes. Awesome? Yes. My friend was smart enough to know that the best part would be choosing the new character names, so she left that up to me. I’m really tempted to call Mr Darcy “Mr. Darsehole,” after this guy in my hometown who would always sniff around high school girls well into his 30s. Anyway. 

It’s also worth mentioning that there was a fair amount of book swapping between the family, something my parents started last year by giving each of us a book they already owned that they thought we would like (I got Marina Lewycka’s Two Caravans, which on my North American copy is called Strawberry Fields). It’s a nice way for me to unload some of my book collection without feeling like I’m actually giving it up (it may have been Christmas, but I’m not really all that generous).

4 Responses to “My Holiday Book Haul”

  1. Stujallen January 5, 2010 at 6:02 pm #

    a nice haul ,love the idea of starring in your own classic a nice idea ,stu

  2. LisaG January 5, 2010 at 11:38 pm #

    LMAO at Mr. Darsehole!

    Let me know how the Munro book is!

  3. savidgereads January 6, 2010 at 1:22 pm #

    The name Mr Darsehole has just made me sort of cough out a load of my coffee. Almost choking was worth it for the laughter that you brought out in me though. Lovely haul and looking forward to your thoughts on all of them.

  4. Lija January 7, 2010 at 12:42 pm #

    Thanks! Nothing pleases me more than being told I’m hilarious (I realize no one actually said that, but I filled in the blanks for ya). Now I’m more tempted than ever to go with Darsehole. I’ll report back when I actually choose the names and get the finished copy sent to me.

Leave a Reply

