The Way We Were

22 Mar

Baby's First Blog Post (they grow up so fast)

Cue Sarah McLachlan’s I Will Remember You, or Green Day’s Time of Your Life, or some other nostalgia-inducing song that’s not from the ’90s, because things are about to get self-referential in here!

Last week was my six-month blogiversary. I didn’t post about it then because the blog and I wanted to celebrate quietly, just the two of us, you understand. Also, I was busy helping a certain special indie publishing house make the final copy edits on their exciting new book.  I’ll be talking about this more later, but let me just say – it’s I’m-not-lying good. I was scanning the thing for misplaced quote marks and replacing hyphens with em dashes, and I still got sucked into the story.

And now, come along with me on my trip down blogging memory lane!

September 2009: I look at pretty pictures of writers’ writing spaces and muse about  tucking tiny scraps of poetry in tiny drawers, and how awesome it would be to have an entire arsenal of identical pens.

October 2009: Big bricky books make good self-defence tools. I tell a story about my mom trying to use a hardcover as a weapon in Ukraine, on Chernobyl kids.

November 2009: David Vann comes to call! He smoothly delivered some amazing blogbites: writing’s not a team sport, he doesn’t write in cafes because the sounds of people chewing would cramp his style, and fish serve as metaphors for the imagination.

December 2009: Paying homage to the books “they” made me read in school. The Chrysalids, Of Mice and Men, Flowers for Algernon, Macbeth, and William Blake all make cameos.

January 2010: Marina Endicott swings by with a messy desk and a fluffy writing companion, or writer’s pet, if you will!

February 2010: My call for creative bookmark substitutes is surprisingly fruitful (cacti? boyfriend elbows? what?) and The Road lets me indulge my crazy tinfoil hat side.

March 2010: Dan Rhodes’ Little Hands Clapping grosses me out and I like it. Later that month, I do a round-up of the last six months of blogging, which you are READING RIGHT NOW. Whoa. Meta.

7 Responses to “The Way We Were”

  1. Jackie (Farm Lane Books) March 22, 2010 at 3:13 pm #

    You have had an impressive first 6 months! Keep up the great work!

  2. John Chidley-Hill March 22, 2010 at 3:52 pm #

    Yay six months!

  3. Sasha March 22, 2010 at 6:00 pm #

    Aww, Happy Six Months! :) Glad to have you on the interwebz with me. :p

  4. Lija March 23, 2010 at 12:35 am #

    Thanks, Jackie, John, Sasha! I am happy to share the internet with you all.

  5. savidgereads March 23, 2010 at 1:05 pm #

    Congrats on the first six months and see you tonight!!!

  6. sonja March 23, 2010 at 11:12 pm #

    Yay! Happy blogiversary!
    VM says, purrrrr (and it is clearly a congratulatory purr).

  7. Lija March 30, 2010 at 4:43 pm #

    Thanks guys!

Leave a Reply

