Book Blasphemy

31 Mar

Have you ever used a book in vain?

I’ve gone over the weird and wonderful things we’ve used when there was nary a bookmark in sight (or, as I suspect, when we just wanted to be bookishly quirky). Now I’m wondering, have you ever taken it one step further and used a book for a non-book purpose?

Books make up my poor man’s nightstand: Ikea boxes + tower of books + magazines stacked on top, et voila: the perfect perch for my morning multigrain Cheerios.

Yesterday I used a special edition Harry Potter to prop up a misbehaving printer power cord.

And I’ve possibly used a phone book for kindling, but never a real book.

What about you? Other forms of book furniture? Anything more inventive?

My book tower isn't nearly this fancy

12 Responses to “Book Blasphemy”

  1. Chrisbookarama March 31, 2010 at 11:23 am #

    I’ll I can remember using books for, besides reading, is to flatten other things.

    • Lija March 31, 2010 at 11:29 am #

      Like flowers? (that’s sweet) Or bugs? (not as much)

  2. Lisa Gee March 31, 2010 at 11:34 am #

    Left my copy of Pride & Prejudice & Zombies under a projector in a meeting about end of life care…

    Does that count?

    • Lija March 31, 2010 at 11:55 am #

      Yes. That’s quite the image.

  3. obsidianrazor March 31, 2010 at 11:40 am #

    Hmm, they’re used as a chunky table-cloth. And a visitor to my house tried to use Steve Erikson’s Rubicon Beach as a clipboard, when they picked it up off of a perfectly good table. The nerve! Needless to say, they are not invited back.

    • Lija March 31, 2010 at 11:56 am #

      I like the chunky table cloth thing. That’s what I’ll tell someone next time they think my desk is messy.

  4. savidgereads March 31, 2010 at 12:02 pm #

    I have been known to use a pile of incomings as a doorstop. I have also used them as paperweights on my desk when I have too much going on and the window open (so we are very safe at this time of year) other than that I try not to deface or neglect them if I can help it.

    • Lija March 31, 2010 at 3:14 pm #

      I also try not to deface them (still feeling bad over my university days of scribbling in PEN). But sometimes you just need a book-shaped object to get the job done.

  5. Riff Randell April 2, 2010 at 12:51 am #

    I’ve used them as window props before, but as far as anything else is concerned, I don’t think so… No wait, not true. I’ve used many a large, hardcover picture book as a breakfast-in-bed tray.

    • Lija April 3, 2010 at 11:14 am #

      That sounds delish.

  6. rachelle April 4, 2010 at 10:32 am #

    I agree. I am certain that I have used books for multi purpose needs. I’ts wierd because I know I do, but I can’t think *looks around bedroom*. Def’ to prop my coffee in the morning is a classic. My father once put money in his books so he’d forget and be pleasantly surprised when reading … I’ve always found that sweet.

    • Lija April 4, 2010 at 11:01 pm #

      Nice! That kinda fits in with the weird bookmark post I did as well. Finding old to-do lists in your books is like finding a little time capsule.

Leave a Reply

