The Real Alice Munro

27 Apr

I was standing in Gatwick last Saturday, waiting for my sister’s plane from Vancouver to roll in, when I saw a dude holding a handmade “Alice Munro” sign with the same Vancouver flight number on it. In a heartbeat I abandoned my good waitin’ spot and hightailed it over to the Alice sign’s vicinity, where I prepared my best flustered but not too flustered “Oh hi there, I’m a big fan!” speech. I decided I would tell her that Lives of Girls and Women was one of my favourites. I cursed the fact that I’d chosen to read The Help this week instead of Too Much Happiness. I rummaged through my purse looking for something else autographable. Maybe my notebook. But not the pages where I’d written BUY MILK or THIS BOOK SUCKS.

In the end, my sister showed up and I couldn’t just wait around like a creep. I asked the guy if he was waiting for the “real” Alice Munro and he laughed and said that, no, it was just his cousin and I was the second person to ask that. I felt a bit bad that this lady would probably hear about how she was just a poor imitation of the real Alice Munro. Then later I thought it would be funnier if it turned out that she was the real A.M. but her Brit cousin just wasn’t aware of her literary celeb status.

8 Responses to “The Real Alice Munro”

  1. Sasha April 28, 2010 at 3:12 am #

    That’s an awesome story, haha. And it’s kinda cool that you were the second person to ask–maybe more had asked after you.

    And yes, darn it, what if she was the “real” Alice Munro? ;p

  2. Jackie (Farm Lane Books) April 28, 2010 at 9:51 am #

    LOL! Sorry you didn’t get to meet any Alice Munro in the end!

  3. Violet April 28, 2010 at 11:09 am #

    It would be funny if it turned out she was the real Alice and the guy didn’t know! They must not have known each other very well, or he wouldn’t have needed a sign. Good story!

  4. Lija April 29, 2010 at 12:46 pm #

    Thanks for the comments of support for my stalkerish tendencies! I do prefer to think she was the real one.

  5. savidgereads May 3, 2010 at 6:27 pm #

    That is brilliant Lija! I think we all would have gone through the same thoughts as you in that situation.

    I have two friends who have the opposite side of the coin. One is called Kate Moss (she can get us a dinner table anywhere, seriously) and the other is my friend Melissa who is the number one Madonna look-a-like and looks like her in general and whenever we go out its hilarious!

  6. Lija May 3, 2010 at 9:57 pm #

    Hah! It must also be kinda sad to have a celeb’s name though – you’re constantly disappointing people when they see you’re just a boring regular person.

  7. Nil Perring May 10, 2010 at 3:18 pm #

    Ha! I think I’d have been just the same!

    Nik

  8. Samantha May 23, 2010 at 2:16 am #

    I’m late to the comment party, but – this story is amazing. Especially that you weren’t the first person to ask!

Leave a Reply

